Are you facing the erase all content and settings button greyed out on iPhone/iPad issue? Do you know what the cause is and how to fix it? If not, keep on reading this post from NewsPivot and learn some effective solutions.

Erase All Content and Settings Greyed out on iPad/iPhone

If you want to sell or give your iPhone/iPad to others, you may need to factory reset your device to wipe all your important data. After going to Settings, only to find that the erase all content and settings button greyed out. Well, it is a common problem that can happen on every iPhone and iPad, and there are some possible reasons for the erase all content and settings greyed out on iPhone/iPad issue:

  • No internet connection
  • iOS system error
  • Wrong password
  • No SIM card inserted

How to Fix Erase All Content and Settings Button Greyed out on iPhone?

After knowing the causes of the erase all content and settings greyed out on iPhone/iPad issue, it’s time to try the methods below to solve it.

Force Restart Your iPhone

The system glitches might be the reason for erase all content and settings not working, so a restart is an effective way to fix the problem. You can press and hold the volume up and the power button for a few seconds, and then slide the power icon to the right. Next, press and hold the power button to restart your device.

Check the Internet Connection

As mentioned above, if there is no internet connection, the erase all content and settings greyed out on iPad/iPhone problem will happen. Therefore, you can check the internet connection to fix this problem. Open Settings > Wi-Fi and see whether the toggle is off. If it’s off, turn it on. Make sure you have a stable internet connection.

Reset Network Settings

It is possible that connecting to a stable internet can’t fix the erase all content and settings greyed out on iPad/iPhone problem. In that case, you should reset network settings on your device first.

Step 1: Go to Settings > tap on General > Transfer or Reset iPhone.

Step 2: Click on Reset > select Reset Network Settings.

Step 3: You need to input your passcode in the pop-up window. Then choose Reset Network Settings again to confirm the action.

reset network settings

When all the steps are finished, connect to the internet and use erase all content and settings again to factory reset your iPhone/iPad.

Turn off Find My iPhone

Find My iPhone is an essential feature that helps locate, lock, or remotely erase your iOS device if it is lost or stolen. However, it might be the trigger of the erase all content and settings button greyed out problem. Turning Find My iPhone off can help you fix the problem.

Step 1: Go to Settings and tap your Apple ID.

Step 2: Hit Find My > Find My iPhone > toggle it off.

turn off find my iphone

Step 3: Enter your Apple ID Password to turn it off.

Update iOS

A possible iOS system error can give rise to the erase all content and settings not working problem, so you are required to update your iOS version to the latest one. To do so, follow the instructions:

Step 1: Head to Settings > General > Software Update.

check software update

Step 2: Check whether there is an available update, if yes, hit Download and Install or Install Now.

Sign out of Apple ID

If you have tried all the methods above and they don’t work, you can temporarily sign out of your Apple ID to fix the erase all content and settings on iPad/iPhone issue.

Step 1: Open Settings and tap your Apple ID.

Step 2: Scroll down to hit Sign Out, and then enter your Apple ID Password to sign out.

sign out of Apple ID

Step 3: Try to erase all content and settings again.

If you don’t have an Apple ID, read this post and create one – How to Create a New Apple ID on iPhone/iPad/Mac.

Suggestion: Erase All Content and Settings via iCloud

If you still find erase all content and settings not working, you can go to iCloud on the browser to complete the erasing process.

Tips:
To erase all content and settings via iCloud, you are required to enable Find My iPhone.

Step 1: Open a browser to visit the iCloud’s official website and log in with your Apple ID and password.

Step 2: In the main menu, click on Find My and choose the device you want to erase in the All Devices menu.

Step 3: Select Erase This Device and enter Apple ID password to finish the process.

Tips:
You can find more details about factory resetting your iPhone in this post - How to Reset iPhone to Factory Settings? Methods Explained.

Conclusion

Deleting all the data on your iPhone/iPad before selling or giving it to others can prevent your personal information from leaking. If you encounter the erase all content and settings greyed out on iPhone/iPad issue, the 6 solutions mentioned in this post can help you figure it out.

  • linkedin
  • reddit